otrc logo

Related Video

Kate Middleton walks down the aisle - in a ivory and white satin dress by Sarah Burton at Alexander McQueen - with her father, Michael Middleton. - Provided courtesy of KABC
Kate Middleton walks down the aisle

Prince William, Kate Middleton are married

04/29/2011 by OnTheRedCarpet.com Staff

Prince William and Kate Middleton have officially tied the knot at Westminster Abbey.

The couple exchanged vows in front of 1,900 people, including fellow royals from around the world, pop stars and athletes.

Royal officials say Sarah Burton designed Middleton's wedding dress, a lacy gown with a plunging neckline.

Guests started pouring in about three hours before the start of the ceremony.

Chelsy Davy, Prince Harry's on-again, off-again girlfriend, appeared at the wedding. Soccer star David Beckham, his wife Victoria and singer Elton John were also in attendance.

Prince William and Middleton will be known as the duke and duchess of Cambridge, Buckingham Palace announced on Friday.

Prince William's wedding is arguably one of the biggest events in Britain since the wedding of Diana and Prince Charles nearly 30 years ago. The British government estimates two billion viewers around the world will watch the nuptials live on TV.

Tens of thousands of people have lined the street of London to watch as the royal couple ties the knot. Many of the wedding fans have been camped out for several days. It was well worth it for the royal watchers, because Prince William emerged from his residence Thursday night to greet those all along the processional route, according to the Associated Press.

The royal wedding began at Westminster Abbey on Friday at 11 a.m. GMT, which is 6 a.m. ET and 3 a.m. PT.

OnTheRedCarpet.com has live coverage of the event at 1 a.m. PT/ 4 a.m. ET as well as a live stream of the Royal Wedding ceremony, which begins at 4 a.m. ET. The wedding reception will be held at Buckingham Palace.

Check out a full timeline of the wedding day here.

(Copyright ©2014 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Follow us on Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on GooglePlus

Sign up Stay Informed