otrc logo
Lena Dunham appears in a still from the HBO series, Girls. - Provided courtesy of HBO

Lena Dunham of 'Girls' signs seven figure book deal

10/08/2012 by Nichole Hamilton

Lena Dunham is known for creating and acting in her Emmy nominated series "Girls," and now, she's adding yet another title to her resume.

Dunham, 26, has signed a seven-figure book deal with Random House Publishing. The Emmy nominated actress is set to publish her essay collection, "Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's Learned," which Random House describes as "in the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris, and Nora Ephron," offering "frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work."

According to the New York Times, the collection was fiercely pursued by publishers after Dunham circulated a 66-page proposal with color, illustrations and a humor that publishing executives predicted could produce another best seller like Tina Fey's blockbuster memoir, "Bossypants."

Susan Kamil, editor-in-chief of Random House, confirmed the deal that's worth over $3.5 million, according to the newspaper, on Monday, October 8. She expressed the worldwide publishing companies' excitement in a statement.

"We're thrilled to welcome Lena to Random House," Kamil told The New York Times. "Her skill on the page as a writer is remarkable - fresh, wise, so assured. She is that rare literary talent that will only grow from strength to strength and we look forward to helping her build a long career as an author."

Dunham said in a statement that she was "thrilled to be working with and learning from the brilliant minds at Random House, and to be among their incredible roster of authors. I look forward to digging deep with Andy and co. to produce the most thoughtful and personal book I can."

The essay collection is set to be edited by Andy Ward, who is an executive editor at Random House.

The actress, producer, director and writer was nominated for three Emmy's in 2012: Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series, Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series and Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series for her work on "Girls." The series was nominated for a total of five Emmys, including Outstanding Comedy Series and Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series.

Dunham first gained attention for writing, directing and starring in the 2010 independent film, "Tiny Furniture," which won the 2011 Independent Spirit Award for Best First Screenplay.

She also wrote the recent film, "Nobody Walks" and the 2009 film, "Creative Nonfiction." Her next film, "Dash and Lily's Book of Dares" is in the script stages, but is slated for a 2013 debut.

Dunham will also appear in Judd Apatow's upcoming film, "This is 40," which is slated for release on December 21, 2012. Apatow also produces "Girls."

(Copyright ©2014 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement