otrc logo

Julie Andrews to honor Carol Burnett, Mark Twain Prize recipient

Get more: Celeb Lives
09/04/2013 by Corinne Heller

Legendary musical performer Julie Andrews will honor her former co-star, comedienne and actress Carol Burnett, as she receives the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, the most prestigious award for comedy in the country.

Burnett, 80, rose to fame as the star of the 1960s and 1970s series "The Carol Burnett Show," which won 25 Emmy awards. She will be presented with her award -- specifically, a copy of an 1884 bronze portrait bust of Mark Twain sculpted by late artist Karl Gerhardt -- at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. on Oct. 20.

"I can't believe I'm getting a humor prize from the Kennedy Center," Burnett was quoted as saying in a statement provided by the venue. "It's almost impossible to be funnier than the people in Washington."

The prize "recognizes people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain," according to the Kennedy Center.

Andrews, who will turn 78 in October and is best known for her roles in the musical films "The Sound of Music" and "Mary Poppins," appears with Burnett on the 1962 TV special "Julie and Carol at Carnegie Hall" (pictured above), which won an Emmy.

Burnett also joined Andrews on stage to sing "Edelweiss" from "The Sound of Music" during the Society of Singers' 2001 tribute event to the musical performer, who received the Ella award at the time.

Other celebrities set to honor Burnett at the event include , Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short, former "Carol Burnett Show" stars Tim Conway and Vicki Lawrence and Lucie Arnaz, the daughter of late "I Love Lucy" stars Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz.

The Kennedy Center said in a Facebook message that Andrews and other celebrity guests will "offer hysterical anecdotes and touching tributes" to Burnett and her "long and illustrious career."

The ceremony is set to air on PBS stations on Oct. 30. Past recipients of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor includes the likes of Fey, Ellen DeGeneres -- who won last year, late standup comedians Richard Pryor and George Carlin, Whoopi Goldberg, Lily Tomlin, "SNL" creator Lorne Michaels, Will Ferrell, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal and Bill Cosby.</p

(Pictured above: Julie Andrews attends a press conference in Sydney, Australia on May 16, 2013. / Julie Andrews, left, and Carol Burnett rehearse in New York's Carnegie Hall for the TV special "Julie and Carol at Carnegie Hall" on March 8, 1962. / Carol Burnett appears at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences' "Tribute To Carol Burnett" event in North Hollywood, California on July 22, 2013. Credit: AP / Rick Rycroft / Frank Micelotta / Invision for Academy of Television Arts & Sciences / Bob Wands)

(Copyright ©2014 OnTheRedCarpet.com. All Rights Reserved.)
blog comments powered by Disqus

Follow us on Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on GooglePlus

Sign up Stay Informed